I’ve been working on my Spirit of the Wolf series since I was 17 years old, almost half my life, so when I heard about NANOWRIMO (National Novel Writing Month) this year, the idea of working on something new was exciting and a little scary. I couldn’t work on any of the books in my werewolf romance series, since I have bits and pieces already written for each of them. But there was this one story I wanted to write, and November gave me the excuse I needed to put my other books down for a bit and try something different. Thus began my foray into the world of fantasy. I didn’t meet my nano goal of 50,000 words in one month, but I did get a respectable 23,000 words. With a full time job and two small children, I’ll take it. Of course, between my work on my book in November and a time intensive Christmas gift that took up the first two weeks of December, I’m feeling a bit apart from the rest of the world for the moment. And I still haven’t finished my book, so that isn’t about to change any time soon.

My new book is a fantasy novel complete with elves, gnomes and other strange creatures (highly influenced by my DnD playing experience). I’m actually very excited about it and hope to have a good draft done soon. I’m at that frustrating point where I have some really fun scenes I want to share with the world, but I’m not far enough alone to actually let anyone read it. There are still a lot of holes in the story that need to be filled in. I don’t even have my title finalized, yet. I’m planning to publish this one via smashwords so I can set the price and get it out a little quicker. Now I just have to fight against myself and hold on to the book long enough to finish it and edit it properly.

Anyway, I just had to share something about my current project. I’ll post more about it, including sample scenes and completion updates, as soon as I can. Keep posted.

-A.D. McLain

www.wotpast.com

