Between taking care of a three year old, working full-time, writing my own books, and getting ready for a new baby, it can be difficult to find the time to just sit down and read a good book. When I was younger, I would spend days doing almost nothing but reading. I was addicted to reading. It is still my favorite pastime, by far. I love reading a well written book, especially one that is part of a series. I got many of my ideas for my own writing after reading a book that really engaged me. I got even more after reading a book I was unhappy with. I would think of all the things I could have done better. 🙂

In high school, I would read every paranormal book I could get my hands on. I loved Maggie Shayne, Jayne Castle and Kay Hooper, among others. They all kept me coming back for more. I also got very caught up in reading Star Wars books. I loved how with the Star Wars books, the story just kept going on. I never had to say good-bye to my favorite characters. I could always come back and find out what happened next. That is what really endeared me to the Sherrilyn Kenyon Dark-Hunter series. I love that the characters from the early books are still an important part in the later stories. They are all stand alone books, but they each are part of a greater whole. That writing style inspires my own writing and makes me want to create a world like that, where all the stories are interwoven and important to each other.

That said, I have had a devil of a time keeping up with all my favorite authors as of late. Whenever I go to look for new books, I always find I am two or three books behind. Of course, it’s great when I do get all the books I’m missing and get to have a mini reading marathon. This is especially true with the Dark-Hunter books. My mom got me into the series (Thanks, Mom!) so she has some of the books, I have some of the books, and when I do get behind, I always have to check with her to see which ones she has that I haven’t read. I can sometimes forget where I’m at, since I don’t have all the books on my shelf to refer back to. And, sometimes I even read a book or two out of order without realizing it. Just did that a few months ago. Despite all that, I absolutely love reading this series and can’t wait to get the next book when I can. I was able to catch up on some of the series back around the first of this year, and it has me very excited to get the new one about  Nick. The book on Acheron was the best. It was dark, complex, really drew you in. Ash is just one of the best characters I’ve ever read. He is the kind of character you’d want to be friends with in real life. I love the dialog Kenyon writes for Ash. He is definitely one of a kind.

Reading Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series makes me excited to read and excited to be a writer. If she can write something so amazing, it gives me hope that I too can create something that people will enjoy with such enthusiasm. It gives me courage not to shy away from difficult topics or dark story lines, even in the midst of a romance. Besides, reading her books is a lot of fun. 🙂 I can’t wait til my next Dark-Hunter reading marathon.

-A.D. McLain

www.wotpast.com

